Title IV-A Coalition Mission Statement and Policy Positions

The Title IV-A Coalition, is an alliance comprised of dozens of national organizations working together to advocate for maximum funding of the Student Support and Academic Enrichment (SSAE) grants under Title IV-A of the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). This flexible block grant is designed to ensure that high needs districts have access to programs that foster safe and healthy students, provide students with a well-rounded education, and increase the effective use of technology in our nation’s schools. 

The Coalition believes that if fully funded and administered the way Congress intended under ESSA, the SSAE grant program has the potential to adequately support school districts in their central mission of providing our students with the skills, resources, and support they need to succeed.

The Coalition also believes that these funds should be used in accordance with the statute and as Congress intended to support programs and services that improve students’ academic achievement. 

Given the flexibility under Title IV-A and the importance of districts using their needs assessments to determine areas of need, we do not believe that Congress or the Department of Education should in any way prioritize one use of funds over the other by introducing legislation, issuing report language, or issuing regulations on the activities covered by Title IV-A. 

On a case by case basis, this Coalition reserves the right to take positions on legislation, regulations, or congressional reports that change the structure of Title IV-A or expand the uses of funds beyond the scope of the law as currently written. 



Ally Bernstein, Executive Director, Title IV-A Coalition, ally@bsg-dc.com

Jon Bernstein, International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), jon@bsg-dc.com

Karen Johnson, SHAPE America, kjohnson@potomacstrategic.com

Jodi Peterson, National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), jpeterson@nsta.org

Zach Scott, National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP), scottz@nassp.org

Kiersten Stewart, Futures Without Violence, kstewart@futureswithoutviolence.org

Kelly Vaillancourt Strobach, National Association of School Psychologists (NASP), kvaillancourt@naspweb.org