About Us


The Title IV-A Coalition is an alliance comprised of dozens of national organizations working together to advocate for full funding and the successful implementation of the Student Support and Academic Enrichment (SSAE) grants under Title IV-A of the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). This flexible block grant, authorized at $1.6 billion through fiscal year 2021, is designed to ensure that districts have access to programs that foster safe and healthy students, provide students with a well-rounded education, and increase the effective use of technology in our nation’s schools. 

The Coalition believes that if fully funded and administered the way Congress intended under ESSA, the SSAE grant program has the potential to adequately support school districts in their central mission of providing our students with the skills, resources, and support they need to succeed.



What is the Title IV-A Block Grant? How are funds distributed? How much has the block grant received? What is the impact on students? Find out here.  

Learn More →



Access our fact sheets, talking points, press statements, funding resources and more here. 

Learn More →

Our Members

Learn about the organizations that make up the coalition and how Title IV, A funding affects each group and the members they represent. 

Learn More →



The members of our Board of Directors are always here to help, please reach out to us to learn more about how you can help!

Learn More →




Ally Bernstein, Executive Director, Title IV-A Coalition, ally@bsg-dc.com

Jon Bernstein, International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), jon@bsg-dc.com

Karen Johnson, SHAPE America, kjohnson@potomacstrategic.com

Jodi Peterson, National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), jpeterson@nsta.org

Zach Scott, National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP), scottz@nassp.org

Kiersten Stewart, Futures Without Violence, kstewart@futureswithoutviolence.org

Kelly Vaillancourt Strobach, National Association of School Psychologists (NASP), kvaillancourt@naspweb.org