The Title IV-A Coalition, is an alliance comprised of more than 60 national organizations working together to advocate for maximum funding of the flexible block grant, which is authorized at $1.6 billion for FY 2018 under Title IV, part A of the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).

The block grant, known as the Student Support and Academic Enrichment (SSAE) grant program, is designed to ensure that high needs districts have access to programs that foster safe and healthy students, provide students with a well-rounded education, and increase the effective use of technology in our nation’s schools.  The Coalition believes that if fully funded and administered the way Congress intended under ESSA, the SSAE grant program has the potential to adequately support school districts in their central mission of providing our students with the skills, resources, and support they need to succeed.

 

MEMBERS OF THE TITLE IV-A COALITION STEERING COMMITTEE

Ally Bernstein – Executive Director, Title IV-A Coalition also representing the International Society of Technology in Education (ISTE), ally@bsg-dc.com

Karen Johnson – SHAPE America, kjohnson@potomacstrategic.com

Ronny Lau – National Association for Music Education (NAfME), RonnyL@nafme.org

Kiersten Stewart – Futures Without Violence, kstewart@futureswithoutviolence.org

Kelly Vaillancourt – National Association of School Psychologists (NASP), kvaillancourt@naspweb.org

Patti Curtis – National Center for Technological Literacy at the Museum of Science, Boston, curtisp@mos.org

Jodi Peterson – National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), jpeterson@nsta.org